New Final Fantasy X world, plot details

[05.07.01] » World and summon monsters named, plus the plot premise revealed. (Possible spoilers within.)

   In today's press release announcing its Electronic Entertainment Expo roster, Square EA also offered a new look at Final Fantasy X's setting and plot.

   The planet on which Final Fantasy X is set has acquired a name -- "Spira" -- making FF X only the second Final Fantasy in which the game world has an actual name. (Final Fantasy IX's planet was named Gaia.) The FF series' trademark summoned monsters also have their requisite new name: "Aeons."

   New plot details describe the beginning of the story as the traditional destruction of the hero's homeland. Tidus miraculously survives the attack -- it's not clear yet what destroys his homeland -- and awakens in the middle of ruins. He soon meets up with Yuna, who is traveling the world to visit temples and learn how to summon the Aeons, "powerful spirits of yore," so she can destroy the force of nature known as Sin.

   As the pair journey, they learn more about Spira's past. One thousand years ago, Spira was a land of great technological advancement and "spectacular cities." However, Sin suddenly and mysteriously arose and destroyed all civilization. Since then, the people have lived in fear of technology, never knowing when and where Sin will strike next. Predictably, it's up to Tidus and Yuna to break the millennium-old curse.

   Final Fantasy X is due out July 17th in Japan. North American and European releases will follow in early and mid 2002, respectively.

Heard a hot news tip? Tell the Agency
Final Fantasy X
Data Feed
Read the latest gaming news.
Catch up on older news stories.